The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this proposal to discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine offers an interesting argument but to move forward on the proposal would specifically require more information and cogitation. Apparently, it is not representative and reliable, and thus, not strong enough to stop participation of organized athletic competition for children under nine. My arguments for these points are as follows.

Firstly, the author claimed that over 40.000 children in youth-league sports under age nine suffered from injuries. Through there have been injuries, we do not know if the total number of sports children in youth-league. For example, if total number of candidates in youth-league are 400.000, there have been only ten percent injuries happened which may have been reasonable. It is not clear, however the scope and reliability of the assumption. Therefore, the author ought to give the the ratio of total number of injuries according to all related participants.

Secondly, building upon the author's argument that 40.000 sports children have suffered from injuries, we do not know which kind of sports have caused them. If they are caused by all type of athletic sports equally, this may be true. But if, the injuries are result from certain type of sports, this may not be true. We just do not know. Regardless of whether the main source of children's injuries, the author does not effectively show a connection between injuries and giving up all organized athletic competitions in youth-league.

Thirdly, while it may be true that high level of psychological pressure to youth-league soccer players exerted by coaches and parents to win games may increase the number of injuries, the author's argument does not make a concrete connection between the different level of pressure and number of injuries . Moreover, as we know, athletics includes many different games other than playing soccer such as running, swimming, long jump, archery, etc. However, we also do not know if the youths in other sports branches have been under serious pressure or not. As a result, the author's argument is not not clear enough to take an action based on this point.

Fourthly, it is easy to understand why sports children do more practise and less academic activities. If they are physically talented and definitely want to have an competitive athletic career, this decision ought to be supported. However, if they are not sure about their future goals, they should attend more academical activities until they make a choice. Consequently, having less academical lessons may have no impact on stop attending organized athletic competitions for children under nine.

All in all, if the author support his/her proposal with more statistical information which is representative and reliable, it would be more effectively dissuade parents to deter their children involving organized youth-league sports activities. But currently, it is not likely significantly persuade the Parkville children under nine not to participate youth-league athletic competitions.