The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

Although this argument looks slightly compelling, there are some serious logical flaws in the argument of the faculty committee. Many of the assumptions made in the argument are unwarranted and are absurd.

The Seatown University's faculty committee's argument is based on a study that was conducted in Oceania university. The study, however, does not provide any information about the wages of the teachers in Oceania university. The teacher wages in Oceania university might be lower than that of Seatown University. Hence, the Oceania university might have offered free tuition for children of faculty members, as an incentive. If a study that provides insightful information about the teacher wages and cost of living in the town - where Oceania university is located - was used, the faculty committee's argument would have been cogent.

The argument also makes an assumption that introducing free tuition policy might lure the new professors. Apparently, this assumption is baseless. The faculty committee is kind of predicting what might persuade the new professors to join the Seatown University. The Seatown university may not be a good place for beginners at all, it may not have that reputation that other good colleges in the town might have. In order to be more persuasive, the faculty committee can provide evidence from a survey, which can prove that the new professors are lured by such policies.

The argument is based on data from some other university. If the faculty committee can collect more relevant data then this argument can be made more compelling.