The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the recommendation of the faculty committee that Seatown should implement free-tuition policy for its professors in a bid to engender retention and woo new professors may be commendable, its arguments leading to such conclusion is lacking because it made some unwarranted assumptions, omitted certain evidences that might bolster its claims and made some unsupported generalizations.

The committee cited a study conducted at nearby Oceania University whereby faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged students. This line of reasoning has several gaps. First, because Oceania University is close to Seatown does not mean they are the same. Do they have the same demographics, same size of campus, facilities or even college ranking? Therefore we cannot generalize that what affects Oceania will in the same fashion affect Seatown because they may be fundamentally different.

Now, even if the two universities are alike, we do not know anything about the modus operandi of the study conducted. Is it reflective of all the reasons while professors tend to stay put at Oceania. We are simply told vaguely that faculty retention is "higher" at Oceania. How high? Five percent higher, ten percent higher? We simply do not have enough information to compare the retention level at both schools.

Lets assume that faculty retention in Oceania is significantly higher than Seatown.Still, there is no evidence linking the "high" faculty retention in Oceania with Seatown. The reason of high retention might be because Oceania pays their professors more than Seatown. It could also be that the professors enjoy grants and other perks that are not available to professors at Seatown. Again,it might simply be for a reason that the Campus of Oceania is bigger or more serene than Seatown.

If we assume that the sole reason while more professors stay at Oceania is due to free tuition for their college aged students, still the committee went on to aver that because such measure worked at Oceania, it will work in the same manner at Seatown. What evidence do we have that the professors at Seatown have college aged students? What if they simply need pay increment or better working condition to stay?

Ultimately, the faculty committee would have had a stronger argument if it provided evidence of how Seatown and Oceania universities are alike, how the free tuition at Oceania led to faculty retention, and how the professors at Seatown are in dire need of free tuition for their children. But for failing to incorporate such evidences in its argument, the committee fails to provide a watertight argument that could make the president of Seatown University follow its lead.