The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presents for a case that the Seatown university must include a free-tuition policy for the children of its faculty members, based on a study conducted in a nearby university. The given argument provides an analysis which may appear right at the first glance but is not so when we delve into is intricacies.

Firstly, the suggestion to provide free tutions is possibly based on a single study conducted in Oceania university, which indicates the likelihood of such study to be biased, given that there is no mention of the similar study being conducted elsewhere. In face of this, more compelling evidence in form of study conducted across multiple universities would be considered relevant before going ahead with implementing such a suggestion. Additionally, given that the statistical significance of study is generally proportional to the sample size, instituting a larger study performed across regions with different academic and cultural environment, economic conditions and living conditions could provide for a more substantial evidence.

Secondly, the claim indicates that the faculty exhibits higher retention when provided with free education for their own college-ages children. However, the argument fails to take into consideration whether such is the case with only Oceania university or with any other university. What this implies is the failure of the argument to consider the ranking of Oceania university compared to Seatown university. There might be a possibility that Oceania university sees higher retention because the university in general is better ranked and provides a better academic environment compared to Seatown university. This would certainly translate into a grater preference by the Oceania faculty to get their children educated at the university where they are employed, and which may not be the case for Seatown university. Thus, a much wiser move before implementing such decision would be for the Seatown university to evaluate its academic standing before making hasty decisions to offer free education. More so, it may bleed the university of the funds it already has; those funds which could be used to improve the academic infrastructure, thereby doing away with the need to lure professors. In any case, if a university is of good reputation, the need to lure professors doesn't arise.

Thirdly, the argument doesn't elucidate upon the relation between free education and morale of its professors. There can always be a case that despite providing free education for the faculty's children, the very faculty may not be happy or motivated to perform competently, which may arise on account of any university's regressive policies. There is always a likelihod that faculty is Oceania university is retained not because of the free-tuition policy but probably because the work environment is really conducive for the faculty and they enjoy working there. Again, this calls for the Seatown University to assess how well it fares in terms of employee friendly policies as compared to Oceania university.

Thus, the argument is marred by several logical challeneges which need to be addressed by adopting several strategies in an attempt to evaluate its standing compared to other universities. From conducting broader surveys to evalauating its employee performance model to assesing its quality of education, a lot many reasons needs to be taken into account before it goes forward to implement the free tuition policy for its faculty. Once we have an understanding of other factors including the weather of the region or where the university is located, or its proximity to basic amenities like hospitals, we may be in a better position to implement such suggestion.