The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument suggests that allowing free tuitions for the professors' children would enhance the morality and lure new professors that will result in a higher faculty retention. Though initially, it might seem a good decision, I think the whole argument is spurious - further clarifications and reasoning are needed to say something like that. I would try to find out some in the following section of my writing.

Firstly, the argument says in Oceania University, faculty retention is higher due to their claim. I think this is absolutely not clear whether other criteria galvanize that survey conducted in that particular university or not. There might have other parameters that kept their significance in that survey. The faculty committee's letter does not clarify this nuance, rather they without considering this important ground recommend the same for Seatown University.

Secondly, there is no clear indication that the faculty members of the Seatown University are currently immoral or the university is unable to lure new professors. For the sake of the argument, we might think that possibility as the faculty committee suggested the president, yet, to state something about the whole university should have strong ground before pointing everyone out. I do not think each and every professor is immoral - it is their sacred duty to teach the student and I do not think every one of them will think differently. There is absolutely at no point, each of them will think - I will teach better or give maximum effort only when my children are the one I am teaching. This does not make a sense, at least, not for a clear headed person.

Thirdly, say for the sake of the argument that professors will teach better if the university free tuition at the same university. But does that claim plausible? Does every professor has a child? Say, if they have, are they are enough aged to join the college? I do not think this is possible in the normal case, nor the argument draws a clear statement regarding this.

Lastly, offering free tuition to their own children may galvanize the professors' teaching, indeed, have raise several questions. In my mind at this point, I am thinking - does this mean that professors pay roll is not enough? I mean in normal case they earn good money, still they will have to offer free tuition for their children! This does not add up. At some point if this is the galvanizing factor the argument should have indicate why the faculty committee is talking about free tuition.

In conclusion, I do not think the argument is fair enough to blatantly suggest the university's president as they did. Several flaws and questions should have overcomed and answered as I have pointed out in my writing.