The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a

client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold,

have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that

region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate

forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years.

Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent

population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for

heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose

major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

For a client to decide whether Consolidated Industries is a reasonable investment target, there are some assumptions need to be validated.

As the letter stated, most people live in the northeastern United States used heating oil as their main resource to help them overcome the harsh weather especially during the winter. Here it implicitly implies that the tradition will continue in the future, but what it did not take into account is the new emerged alternations which could replace this long existed convention, for instance, heater powered by electricity. With the improvement of technology, a typical electronic heater which could have cost a fortune in the past is becoming much more powerful and affordable. Furthermore, because of global warming, people recently gaining more awareness of the environmental issues, thus instead of using oil which produces air pollution, they may prefer choosing other eco-friendly resources.

Another assumption was that the climate forecasters who predict the region will experience three more months abnormal temperature for several years. However, what it did not provide is the identity of those forecasters. Are they authoritative representatives in this field or are they just juniors who recently graduated from college? And is it effective to make such prediction based only on the last heating season? Where did those data come from? How did they collect it? We need more detail in order to make a quality decision.

Additionally, it asserted that the heating oil is going to be highly demanding since more houses are being built in this area to accommodate recent population growth. What it did not state is the reason why the population is experiencing such a growth. As it previously claimed, residents traditionally used heating oil to keep themselves warm in the winter, but what if the growing population was resulted from people who move from outside of the region due to some unexpected factors, such as, to escape from their homeland which was lately destroyed by a deadly storm? If so, how can one assume the population will remain increasing in the future? Even it will, one cannot confirm that using of heating oil will continue being a trend since these people are not the original residents.

Finally, there are few more things in terms of the heating oil industry we need to verify, that is, how many competitors are in this industry? And how much market share does Consolidated Industries hold? If there are many and Consolidated Industries does not hold the majority share, it would be risky to invest in such a corporation. Moreover, we need to consider whether there is an incoming competitor who has newly invented a high technology which could benefit their productivity or products.

From all that stated, those assumptions need to be further verified in order to make an accurate decision.