The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguments states that Adam Realty is a leading state agents compared to Fitch Reality. According to the argument the author believes that if you want to sell your house quickly and a good price Adam is a way to go. The author is basing superiority of Adam on the number of estate agents that he has, his revenue and on how fast he can sell a house.

It is stated in the argument that Adam has many real estate agents compared to Flitch and when their revenue are compared Adam has almost twice that of Flitchs. This is expected looking at the information provided, Adam has almost double the number of real estate agents his revenue is expected to be double than that of Flitch. Looking on the home sales average the difference is not too big. So if we are are compare their superiority based on this average this would weaken the argument.

In the argument it could have been assumed that they charge the same rates for their services. It is not stated what percentage Adam charges for selling your home and how it compares to what Flitch charges. Adam could be selling fast and a good price by maybe he charging a way higher than what Flitch is charging and at the end of the end it would be better to use Flitch than Adam. So if Adam is found to be charging way higher will weaken the argument.

It is further assumed that houses listed by Adam sell faster than those listed by Flitch. We are given an example of a house that was sold ten years ago. Ten years is too long a time. A lot can change in ten years. For example you can not compare the marketability of property in Zimbabwe ten years ago. Due to the difficult economic conditions people could not afford buying houses ten years ago. But now people can afford to buy houses, if we are to compare the marketability of a home back then it will be difficult. This assumption further weakens the argument.

In conclusion, assumptions that have been made in this argument have to evaluated so that we can prove the argument warranted. We can not just assume that Adam is better than Flitch without evaluating the assumptions