The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The homeowner who has written the letter has made a comparison between two real estate firms of his town, but unfortunately his argument is primarily based on assumptions only. He, indeed, has provided various statistics and figures to support his argument but his points are inconclusive. a coherent and logical approach is required to make the said comparison, which regrettably, is absent in the homeowner’s statement.

The homeowner has clearly declared Adams Realty as superior, which appears to be simplistic, but apparently is not very convincing. To support the point, it is mentioned in the letter that Adams Realty has 40 real estate agents while Fitch has only 25. The difference in numbers might seem interesting, but are quite inconclusive. A firm’s performance cannot be judged on the basis of the number of full time agents it employs. It is quite possible, that Fitch’s employees may be part time and less in number, but more efficient, dedicated and talented in their field. It will not be wise to choose a real estate firm without observing the performance of its employees and just by their numbers.

Furthermore, the homeowner has mentioned the revenue generated by both firms. It is mentioned that Adams revenue was of $168,000 while Fitch’s was only $144,000. Here again, he tried to lure the reader by some numbers, but he failed to notice himself that a firm’s success or failure cannot be interpreted on the basis of the revenue it generates. It is quite possible that Adam’s may be selling more number of properties than Fitch but with lesser margin than the latter. In this case, it would be more sensible to make a deal with Fitch as the chances of making higher profit would be higher there. In other words, to support the argument, the homeowner needs to add the comparison of the profits both the firms made the previous year, instead of revenue generated.

Additionally, the homeowner has also mentioned his personal experience in the letter. But, yet again, his argument is unconvincing and inconclusive. It is stated that Fitch took 4 months to sell his property 10 years ago, while Adams took only a months to sell another one last year. Here again he attempted to tempt the readers with numbers, but this statements lacks various other factors which are very important in order to make a choice. The homeowner has not mentioned the conditions of the real estate market of 10 years ago and of last year. Neither has the location and the conditions of the above stated properties are disclosed. It is possible that the property Fitch dealt with was located in some not so desirable location, or, the property was disputed. Also it’s equally possible that the market condition was not as good that time as it was last year. If any of the above mentioned possibilities are true, then it would be prudent to deal with Fitch than with Adam, which will contradict the argument presented.

In conclusion, it can only be said that the homeowner needs to perform a better case study on both the firms. It is appreciable that statistics was used in the argument, but the scope of his analysis needs expansion. Instead of basing the argument on personal assumptions, the homeowner requires to carry out a broader, unbiased and more logical investigation before making a recommendation to anyone.