The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author makes the assertion that Fitch Realty is inferior to Adams Realty. The author makes this conclusion on the basis of some assumptions that are faulty in nature and does not provide germane evidence to bolster his claim.

Firstly, the author claims that Adams Realty is superior on the basis of numbers of employees they have. The author suggests that Adams has more real estate agents than Fitch, and that is the reason for their superiority. But numbers of employees can not be the parameter for any company’s efficacy. Fitch might have fewer employees, but it is possible that these employees are more efficient than Adam’s. The author also mentions that as the Adam’s many employees are part time workers they generate weaker output than Fitch’s employees. But the author fails to provide any evidence regarding how working many hours lead them to superiority. It is possible that the employees working at Fitch are more efficient than Adam’s and do the same work in less time than Fitch’s employees.

Secondly, the author provides statistics regarding the last year revenue of Adam’s and Filch’s and claim that Adam Realty is superior because their revenue was larger. At first glance, this logic might seem okay. But the author provides the statistics regarding their sales for only previous years. He does not say anything about other years. It is possible that Fitch Realty made smaller revenue only in the last year. In previous years or in any other year Fitch’s revenue was larger.

The author also claims that homes listed with Adams sell faster than Filtch. To support this claim the author states that ten years ago Fitch took more than four months to sell his house whereas Adams sold another of the author’s home in a month. Even if this is true, it does not qualify for his superiority claim. The author does not consider that the time gap is huge. He does not provide any evidence that ensures that there was no other reason for Fitch to take longer time to sell his house. It is possible that the year Fitch sold the author’s house, economy was rough and every realtor suffered the consequences. May be the house that the author listed to sell with Fitch was really overpriced, or poor in quality, or there was some difficulty with the author’s negotiation. And Adam did not have to face these problems.

In conclusion, the author made his argument on the basis of some weak assumptions which are filled with discrepancies and does not bolster his claim. If he wants to establish his claim he should make a thorough observation and takes every factor in consideration.