The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager. “One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further.”

The writer of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion, from disjointed and incomplete data, that putting restrictions on water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase the profit of Sunnyside Corporation. In the support of his position, the writer claims that no complain reported for showers since one month ago showerheads of the first five floor's apartments were modified to restrict the water flow to one-third of its original flow. At first glance, it seems plausible, but in the depth analysis reveals certain logical fallacies.

In the given argument, a major question that needs to answer is that did the reduction in the water pressure of the first five floors reduced water usage? It's likely that due to the reduced pressure in shower people needs more water. Moreover, the writer does not present the information regarding the difference in water reading before and after water flow restriction. It is not feasible to assume that due to less water flow people used less water. Thus, if residents started using more water due to less pressure then the writer's claims fall apart.

Furthermore, even if we assume that the reduction in the water flow of the first five floors reduced water usage and no one complaint about it then also we cannot apply the same for the rest of the floors. The writer needs to answer the question, where is the water tank situated? Because if the water tank is on the terrace then the pressure on the first five floors is naturally more than the upper floors, hence the reduction in the pressure of all the floors may create problems for the upper floors. Moreover, the writer needs to clear that, is there any difference between the water usage habits of all the residents? Maybe the residents of the first five floors are conservative and using water carefully while the other residents are profligate in water usage. Thus, after reducing the water flow it is not guaranteed that it will increase decrease water usage. Therefore, the writer's assumption that the profit will increase proves unwarranted.

All things considering, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of the evidence needed. The writer needs to answer the questions regarding, the difference in the water usage before and after water flow restriction, the difference in the water usage habit of all the residents, location of the water storage tank to make the argument more promising. However, no convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on the wishy-washy observation that is likely to be incorrect.