The following appeared in a letter too the editor of a journal on environmental issues. "Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

The argument concludes that the Crust Copper Company established in the tropical region of West Fredonia will inevitably result in pollution and ultimately, an environmental disaster. However, there are certain flaws and assumptions, made by the author, which enfeebles the aforementioned statement.

First, the argument assumes that mining copper will lead to pollution, but, it can be challenged by the question that, is the copper mining only cause for the pollution and environmental flaws in that region? It is possible that some other reasons such as overgrazing, deforestation, excessive use of fodder fuel, etc. might be a feature, as a repercussion of which such environmental disaster is taking place.

Second, a fallacy arises in the statement when it is stated that, since West Fredonia is a home to several endangered species, the copper mining is responsible for environmental disaster in such area. But, no evidence is given regarding the connection between endangered species and copper mining. The insalubrious environment might be a matter of concern regarding such endangered species, but, such inappropriate environment is a result of solely copper mining, it is not warranted. And what about other regions, where there are no such endangered flora and fauna exists, but, similar copper mining is going on and affecting the indigenous environment?

Third, the argument suggested that the local public should disown CCC products unless the company abandons its mining plans. However, a question, here, comes up that, just by boycotting the CCC goods, will the company agree of taking its steps back from mining in that area? What if the consumers need such products and buy from other companies? It is possible that buying similar products from other entrepreneurs will lead to environmental concern in that particular region where such other companies are set up.

To sum up, copper mining might be a reason when it comes to pollution and environmental concern, but, it is not the only reason behind it. Moreover, the argument could be strengthened by giving the statistical data for comparison of different factors which are responsible for the environmental flaws in that particular region. As before taking any action, considering all the faces of coin is obligatory.