The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview. "It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many years, but last year private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. In addition, the symphony has just announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. For these reasons, we recommend that the city eliminate funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra from next year's budget. We predict that the symphony will flourish in the years to come even without funding from the city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

At first glance, the prompt appears to belie a compelling argument against public funding for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. However, further thought shows that the memo relies on presumptive assumptions and fallacious reasoning. Analysis is required on a granular level in order to make an informed financial decision.

To begin with, the costs may not outweigh the benefits. Often it makes more sense to spend money in the short run in order to yield higher returns in the long run. To illustrate, the Grandview Symphony Orchestra likely brings in tourism which brings new business to local commerce. With more funding, they will be able to produce more shows thus attracting out of town orchestra enthusiasts directly to local Grandview businesses. In this instance, it is beneficial to subsidize the orchestra's costs in order to maintain high production volumes. Without more information regarding tourism and the Grandview Symphony Orchestra, the author's claims are presumptive.

Furthermore, the memo claims that the symphony will flourish in years to come even without city funding. As mentioned in the previous example, no business is safe to the detriment of rising costs. Even if inflation is not a current concern for the Grandview Symphony Orchestra, it will likely be one in the future. Regardless, the author does not elaborate nor provide a cogent argument as to why he/she is confident in their future success. Basing a large funding decision off of one year's attendance is an unjustifiable assumption.

Additionally, the writers points to increased private donations, attendendance and ticket prices implying they have increased profits. This may indicate increased profits for the Grandview Symphony Orchesta, but we do not know without looking at their audited accounting documents. For instance, the costs of goods and services may have risen at faster rate due to inflation. Perhaps donations increased in desperation to keep the production afloat, and ticket prices were raised out of necessity. Inflation can cause damaging losses to unprepared businesses, and it is likely that the rise in ticket prices and private donations are justified. A recent Wall Street Journal article examined the increased number of small business solvencies and concluded that over 60% of shut downs were attributed to the rising costs of goods. Without officially knowing whether or not the Grandview Symphony Orchestra is turning a profit, it is irrational to base a decision regarding funding on the little information we know.

In summary, the prompt flashes statistics that do not provide insights into the true nature of the Grandview Symphony Orchestra's business strength. The writer may be correct in their future success and is right to suggest that the city should eliminate funding. But we simply do not know enough to make an informed decision off what is presented.