The following appeared in a memo from the chairperson of the school board in the town of Saluda.

"For the past five years, Mr. Charles Schade has been the music director at Steel City High School, and during that time the school band from Steel City High has won three regional band competitions. In addition, the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments at Steel City High has improved markedly over the past five years. Because of such successes at Steel City High, the Saluda school board should hire Mr. Schade to plan and direct the general music education programs for the entire Saluda school system."

The head of the High School board in town of Saluda via a memo gives advice in support of Mr. Charles Schade employment. He argues that Mr. Schade resume is a positive proof on be halve of his possible effectiveness in High School of Saluda. The chairperson as evidence to support his claim, alludes to Mr. Schade work as music director at Steel City High School for 5 years. He asks board members to pay attention to achievement of Steel City High School’s band in wining 3 regional band competitions in course of his employment. Moreover, he refers to renewal of the quality of the music facilities and musical instruments in Steel City High School during this time. The chairperson asserts that given aforementioned facts, hiring Mr. Schade to plan and manage the musical curriculum for the all the students in High school of Saluda will be a good decision. This arguments rests upon a set of assumptions, that their reliability is doubtful.

One of the two main assumption which support the chairperson claim is this hypothesis that prosperity of Steel City High School’s band in regional tournaments is direct result of Mr. Schade efforts. However, we must keep in mind that this success can be the fruit of other factors. There could be a whole set of other criteria that we must consider. Perhaps the low level of regional competition? This can very well lead to success, even for a band without enough competence. It is even possible that this accomplishment is the result of recent increase in public awareness and attention to music in Steel city. A rise that convinced parents to pay more attention to students’ outcomes in competitions and persuaded them to ask for more.

Another problem regarding this request is that the writer of the memo assumes that the remarkable improvement in quality of the musical facilities and instruments in Steel High School is due to Mr. Schade trying. Nevertheless, we must keep in mind that there are other explanation for these modifications. These upgrades could have been reached as a result of increase in public services’ budget through the whole country, or they could be outcome of anonymous donation to school. Even we must not remove the possibility of charities aid.

A third problem that must be considered here is this conception that the situations and conditions in these two High School are the same. Even if we accept Mr. Schade contribution in Steel High School’s achievements and improvements, we must not forget that we are faced with two different school. It is a possibility that these schools may have fundamental difference. Maybe one of them is an art school and the other one a vocational school. We cannot expect that Mr. Schade reach same outcomes in both one.

In the final analysis, the writer`s conclusion cannot be taken as a sound one because, as it was shown in the paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The author is unable to substantiate his claims with proper reasons and proofs. It remains by and large unknown the primary reasons for Steel High School’s achievements. Hence, we cannot see them as excellent basses for making decisions about employment of Mr. Schade.