The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

After conducting research on suitable building sites for a new hobby shop, New Ventures Consulting suggests HobCo to choose soutneastern Grilldon as the site for their next hobby shop. From the report of the research, it seems at first glance that it is profitable for HobCo to follow the suggestion. However, several questions about the evidence provided by the research need to be answered before HobCo makes its final decision.

The research has found there was no hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. But it did not provide a clear description of the area of southeastern Grilldon. Perhaps the southeastern part of Grilldon was too small for business to develop. It could be in badly maintained situation that has poor infrastructure and facilities, which was unsuitable for neither residence nor business development. Besides southeastern part, there may be hobby shops in other parts of Grilldon. Thus, the consulting firm should state clearly about the whole picture of Grilldon rather than focusing on southeastern part only.

The research indicates that the hobby business in Grilldon has increased by 300 percent during the past decade, without pointing out clearly what business it is talking about. It may be talking about the total amount of hobby shops in Grilldon, the amount of employees who work in hobby business, and the amount of investment in Grilldon. Even if the amount of shops in Grilldon increases from one shop to four shops, it can generate an increase of 300 percent as a increase from 100 shops to 400 shops. It is ambiguous what is the business discussed in the report and what relations does it have on recommending HobCo to open a new shop in Grilldon. If there has been enough shop that making the hobby business saturated, then there is no point for HobCo to enter the market.

The consulting firm supports its suggestions with the result of a poll which found 88% of area residents who responded welcomed the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. But the poll did not indicate the total amount of people that responded to the poll. If there were only 100 people responded, out of which 88 welcomed the new shop, there was an 88% supporting rate. What matters is the total sample size of the poll, and the proportion of the sample size in the total residents living in the area. The consulting firm should report clearly how much did the people taking the poll make up for the total area residents.

It is good for Grilldon to have many retirees that may have ample time to devote to hobbies. But what remains unclear is whether the retirees in Grilldon accepts the form of a hobby shop. The retirees may have already had developed their own person hobbies and there was no need for time to spend extra money in a hobby shop. In addition, the consulting firm suggests that the new shop open in southeastern part of Grilldon without indicating the demographic data of this part. The large amount of retirees in Grilldon may live in other parts of the city and may find it time consuming to go to a hobby shop located in southeastern part.

From above, the research is not cogent enough to support the suggestion that HobCo should open a new hobby shop in southeastern part of Grilldon. More information on the southeastern part of Grilldon and Grilldon city as a whole should be provided for the decision making.