The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument presents a memo from a company named New ventures consulting to the president of Hobco, Inc with a recommendation for them to open a franchise in the southeastern region of grilldon. The argument comprises details regarding the feasibility of opening a shop in the southeastern area of grilldon. The argument concludes by giving out the prediction to Hobco hobby shop about the prospects of opening a new shop. However, these evidences are not convincing as there are a lot of questions which need to be answered.

Firstly, the argument relies on the reports conducted by the the researchers of New Ventures consulting whose reach and credibility is unknown. For instance, a micro survey done for a city cannot depict the whole scenario of the country. Moreover, even if their research was on point, their statistics show that 88 percent of people are welcoming the

idea of a hobby shop opening and hence that is being provided as an evidence to support the conclusion. But, the resident’s word of mouth cannot be taken at face value as

some people might be pleasing the person asking this question which is giving out deluded results. The argument further goes on to state that as the hobby business in the region grew by a whopping 300 percent in the last decade, this venture is also bound to succeed which clearly is an analogical assumption as there cannot be a standard way of determining a success based on other companies of the same industry.

The argument further states that there are ample number of retirees who would whole-heartedly devote their time to hobbies and that it is an indicator for successful venture.

The big gap over here is assuming that retired people have no better thing to do except for going to Hobco. Hobby shops and spending their time which is a narrow minded approach towards looking at the viability of a new shop as they might be having varied interests and not everybody would be comfortable just because they have ample time.

The data presented in the argument lacks depth of detail that would help evaluate us the significance of the recommendation. How many people were surveyed? What was

the margin of error in the study conducted? Do people actually take the surveys seriously? Can an analogy be used for a company XYZ just because a certain company ABC

was successful in the same industry? Such questions are likely to give us a clear picture of the recommendation that drew a broad conclusion based on questionable evidences.

Thus, the author of the argument has failed to give a holistic view of the whole picture and hence renders the argument over simplistic and unconvincing. Had the author provided substantial information regarding the questions asked, then the reader would have got a clearer idea of the probability of a venture’s success. Finally, the researchers could have strengthened their case be dismissing the alternative explanation presented for the data thus far.