The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of Sartorian, a men's clothing manufacturing company, argues in his memo that they should resume their production of alpaca coats that were discontinued 5 years ago. This argument builds around a sanguine outlook of consumer demand for alpaca coats and their willingness to pay high prices for these coats. Nevertheless, more information regarding the current fashion trends and clothing alternatives, the cost of resuming production, and the economic power of their customers should be presented to assess the robustness of the argument.

The first piece of evidence we need to acquire is the current fashion trends. Since the prosperity of the clothing industry largely depends on the vacillating consumer taste, clothing manufacturing companies often go through unpredictable ups-and-downs. We need more reports about customers' thoughts on alpaca coats and fashion editor's articles to gauge the popularity of this line of clothing. It might be the talk of the town 5 years ago, but its popularity might diminish throughout the years and be considered obsolete nowadays. If this is the case, resuming its production might not be beneficial for Sartorian.

Secondly, we need data about the costs of resuming the production of alpaca coats. That profit is revenue minus costs is simple math. Even if customer demand for alpaca coats is high and the consumption generates large revenue, a disproportionate production cost might offset the sales increase. For example, resuming productions involves the establishment of new factories, the acquisition of new machinery, and the training of workers. Also, the price of high-quality wool fabric might be higher than it was 5 years ago. Unless comprehensive production cost data and revenue prospect reports are presented, we cannot justifiably claim that resuming alpaca coats production is bound to generate profits.

Finally, we need to know more about the general public's economic power and spending habits. We only know from the passage that prices of most types of clothing have increased, but this does not necessarily correlate with the customer's willingness to pay high prices for clothing. The price increase of clothing may be due to severe inflation and society's economy is actually at the brink of collapse. In this case, customers can't be able to pay high prices for alpaca coats. Also, general customers' spending habits might be different from 5 years ago. For example, they might be more frugal when spending money and buy more essential stuff that clothing. In this case, resuming production for high-priced coats might not be a great idea.

In conclusion, more evidence related to the aforementioned issues must be presented to substantiate the vice president's claim that Sartorian should resume their production of alpaca overcoats.