The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the

In the memo, the author claims that the best way to improve profits in all of stores is to discontinue stocking many of their varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses. Because from a recent survey by cheeses of the World magazine and from last year selling records of their stores, the author believes that people are preferring domestic cheeses than imported cheeses. This extrapolation looks seemingly plausible at first glance, but if we deliberately think about all the evidences that author has cited, we can find many loopholes among them.

At the beginning, the author declares that all the five best selling cheeses at their newest store were domestic cheeses. But the author doesn’t specify whether domestic cheeses make the most profits or not last year. It could be possible that even if they sold more domestic cheeses than imported cheeses, but because domestic cheeses are so common in their country that the price are very low along with the profits by selling them, their stores would make more profits from imported cheeses in adverse last year.

Later, the author cites a survey by Cheeses of the world magazine indicating the preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. But the author may have forgotten to consider the discrepancy between their customers and the subscribers of the magazine. So the outcome of survey can’t be used to decide what kinds of cheese will their customers buy in the end. It could be possible that the aim population of chees customers has much bigger range than the one of magazine subscribers.

In the end, the author suggests their stores to concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses so that they can make more profit in the future. Even suggesting that domestic cheeses are the most profitable at present, the author may has ignored some basic economics principles. If their stores stock too much domestic cheeses, the glut of domestic cheeses supplied in the market right now will cause the shrink of price along with the profit in the future. In adverse, because the lack of imported cheeses in the market, their price will rise along with the profit.

Thus, the author hasn’t given a very persuasive suggestion from the evidence he provides, because the conclusion of author is basing on too many unproven assumptions. Additional profound investigations, such as surveys among real customers but not magazine subscribes, should be conducted before we can give a cogent result.