The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument compares the service from two Pest Control companies in the storage warehouses in different cities. Based on the analysis and evidences, the argument concludes on using the same Pest Control services which the organization have been using in the past. Also the argument claims that, although using the same company might cost some money that is the only economical way for them.

While analyzing the evidences made in the argument, the first assumption made is the damage is because of the poor service of one of the companies. This assumption if true, would strengthen the conclusion made in the argument. But, there is a possiblity that the service was good, but the pests came again because of the poor maintenance of the place. Pests are known to occupy a place if there is stagnant water or left over food, etc. This being the case then moving to the old company might not have much impact.

The second assumption that the conclusion is based on is that, the service provided by Buzzoff limited the damage to $10,000 at Wintervale. While this is a plauisble reasoning, there could have been other factors including the maintenance of the particular warehouse could have improved. Also, on top of that the city government might have taken measure in eradicating pests all over the city which resulted in reduction in the damage from the pests in Wintervale. If this being the case, the impact of Buzzoff in limiting the damage might be less than what is claimed.

The final assumption that is being made is that, the cost invested in hiring buzzoff will for sure be less than the profit made from the goods being saved. This is from the particular line of the argument which reads,” our best means of saving money”. This assumption is only based on the difference in damage between Wintervale and Palmcity. While FlyOff was tried in Palm city, the failure of their service might have been due to other factors as poor maintenance. And, predicting the performance of their service with this one try might be biased.

With the stated assumptions, there is a chance that the conclusion made by the company might not be completely correct. Hence further analysis might be needed before deciding on fixing Buzoff for future servicing and considering it to be the only way to save more money.