The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

There is a recommendation from a vice president of a manufacturing company. The arguer indicates that their working period is too long to increase the working accidents by 30%. The arguer suggests that the nearly Panoply Industries whose products are similar to theirs has lower working accidents because of its one-hour-shorter shift. Then the arguer supplies the evidence that the fatigue and sleep deprivation will influence the workers and have an association with the higher on-the-job accidents. This argument, however, is unconvincing because numerous equivocal assumptions must be made for a sound proof.

To begin with, the arguer mentions that the factory is new opened. The arguer yet did not offer the detail of the reason why these works had accidents. It could be a possibility that the increasing accidents rate is the ramifications while the employees are not familiar with these new facilities. To the beginners, it is a common phenomenon that they operate the machine without correct skills or enough care and cause the mistakes. In this case, these rose accidental rate was not the result of a lack of sleep and therefore undermine the arguer’s claim.

The arguer indicates workers in the newly opened factory had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than those in Panoply Industries. It could be two doubts of the resources of these statistics. One is that what these on-the-job accidents are and the other is the information of Panoply Industries’ on-the-job accidental statistics. Whether the definition of on-the-job accidents, the employees’ duties, and the skill are the same. The auger assumes hastily that their on-the-job accidents are higher than those of Panoply Industries. Without a more considerable information of both companies, the assertion would be unacceptable.

The arguer took Panoply Industries as the comparison is based on the similarity of the products. The assumption, however, is untenable. The close relation of products does not mean the other parts of the companies would be similar. What about the environment, the work skills, and the employees' salaries? All of these could affect the reason of on-the-job accidents. Unless the arguer could evince there is no difference between these two companies or the accidents did not effect by any other possible factor would the claim be convincing.

Finally, the arguer illustrates that the long work shift would cause fatigue and the on-the-job accidents. The most confusing problem is that the long work shift is only longer by one hour than the short one. The arguer perhaps needs to offer a cogent evidence to show this one-hour is long enough to cause fatigue. Moreover, it cannot be sure that the employees who have the one-hour shorter shift will sleep in that one hour. It could be possible that they do their personal activities such as playing games, shopping, and eating. In any of these scenarios, if true, would undercut the claim of one-hour short shift is equal to adequate sleep.

In conclusion, the argument is not persuasive as it represents. To reinforce the argument, the vice president needs to offer the detail of these accidents and the information of the two companies. In addition, it is important to detect if the one-hour plays a major role on causing on-the-job accidents. Without the stronger proof, it is unwarranted to accept the argument.