The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station:

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded mu-sic suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Version 2.

It is reasonable that the manager of the WWAC radio station wants to create a plan to in-crease listenership. While some preliminary investigation has been conducted as to the reason for decline in listener numbers, more information is needed to determine if the manager has proposed changes which will benefit the station. Evidence will replace speculation. Such evidence should include a survey of population growth, demographics and entertainment preferences. The manager states that the population growth in the area is composed of mostly retired people and resolves to make these new residents fans of WWAC. She also states that news and talk is an increasingly popular radio format in the area, and that interest in mu-sic is on the decline. To ensure that WWAC will capture the support of the new retired residents and regain prior listeners, the manager should ensure that her statements are accurate.

First, data on the age, gender, and entertainment tastes of the local residents and station listeners should be gathered. This information will help the manager decide if it is wise to reformat the station to target an elderly population. The manager’s campaign will be misdirected if a) the population growth is not composed of elderly people, b) this new demographic does not specifically prefer news-and-talk over music, c) the new growth is not a significant number compared to the whole, or d) the demographic of existing listenership far outweighs the gains of some new elderly listeners.

Secondly, evidence must reveal whether the format of the radio station is the reason that listenership has declined. There are other possible causes for a decline in listeners, meaning that reformatting will not have the intended effect. In such case, the manager will have to ad-dress the issue in another way. The decline could be due to lack of advertising the station, too many commercial breaks, or from intensified competition from other stations or online sources. Most critically, music has a broad spectrum. Even rock-n-roll has many subcategories. Perhaps the general format should remain music, and only the genre of that music changed.

Lastly, there must be support for the manager’s claim that interest in news and talk is increasing in popularity and that music as a listening category is on the decline. If these statements can be verified and that the shift in preferences is substantial, then the new radio format is logical. However, the manager makes these claims based on assumptions which are erroneous. She concludes that a drop in sales at local music stores indicates loss of interest in mu-sic in general. Yet it is well known that many people now listen to music for free online, or for little cost through curated phone apps, such as Spotify. If attendance at live music events has stayed level, this would contradict the manager’s theory.

Ultimately, the WWAC manager must dedicate more time to gathering information before making a change to the radio format to target new residents. She must ensure that the number and demographic of the new residents will be substantial enough to justify re-marketing for them. She must understand the reason for decline in of her audience, and also determine if the news-and-talk format is actually more popular than music at present. If any one of these components is not true, the change in format will be wasted time and effort, and perhaps continued decline in listenership.