The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station asserts that WWAC must stop playing music and focus on news and talk format.  The reasons mentioned by this manager are weak because more evidence is required in order to accept his conclusion for such a reformation.

First, this memo suggests that WWAC should convert its station to a news station because this form of radio has become popular in the area. The assumption is that by just doing something popular, that success will ensue.  In order to create a convincing argument that the WWAC should follow what is popular, evidence should be provided that clearly demonstrates that there is still a market for news and talk.  This evidence would strengthen his reason because without it, a saturated radio market of news and talk format would preclude WWAC’s penetration into that market, and thus, would not garner a large amount of listeners.

In addition, the author does not provide evidence into why he believes that sales in recorded music is correlated with interest in music.  In order for one to agree with his notion that sales in local shops are correlated with general interest in music, evidence should be provided that can elucidate the reasons for this.  Surely there are other ways for music lovers to show interest in music other than pure revenue sales of recorded music.  What about live shows or the interest found on the internet?

The reasons stated from the manager require leaps of faith and additional evidence to have the same conclusion as him.  As it currently stands, this memo is missing pertinent evidence, such as demonstrating a clear market for news and talk radio and data that supports the claim that recorded music sales is the best indicator for interest in music.  Both forms of evidence would bolster his argument that the WWAC should convert its station into a news and talk format.