The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station suggests to change the format of the station from rock-music to news and talk. While the suggestion may sound plausible he fails to provide strong arguments supporting it.

First of all, the manager doesn’t provide clear evidence that lack of interest to rock-music format is the main cause of a decline in listener numbers. There might be alternatives explanations to it, such as too many advertisements or the content - songs and artists - might not being updated for a long time. For example, making a survey amongst listeners can provide valuable feedback on ways to improve the current situation without changing the station format.

Secondly, the argument that interests in music is limited is not entirely convincing. The manager bases it on continuing decline in local sales of recorded music. However, this doesn’t necessarily implies that the same situation persists with the demand for music from a radio station. Of course, there might be easier and more convenient ways to listen music rather than CDs or DVDs when you’re interested in a particular album or an artist. But a radio station allows you to explore and find new unknown tracks and follow latest music trends. The manager is well advised to do more metilous analysis before making conclusion on the interest in music in the area.

Lastly, the manager should consider the overhead of switching the station specialization - he might have to find completely a new team and build new programs from scratch. That will definitely take a lot of time and resources. There is a danger that the renovated radio station wouldn’t become popular after all, for example, since the interest in news and talk format might not necessary hold that long. The manager should consider possible risks and provide additional arguments why he thinks it’s still worth investing in.

In this regard, the suggestion is not well supported. Additional evidences might be required and some questions need to be answered in order to make the suggestion more appealing.