The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument asserts that in order to attract more listeners, the radio station should switch its format from rock-music to news and talk. While the suggestion may sound plausible, the author fails to provide a solid evidence that this change would be beneficial to the station, relying on unproven assumptions, omitting relevant information, and not taking several important factors into consideration.

First of all, the author never provides the demographics of the WWAC listeners. If the senior citizens of the considered area were never among the listeners, than a decline in listener numbers is not “despite the population grows” but irrelevant to it, since the growth is mainly consist of retired people. Also, the demographic data could give us possible explanations regarding the decline in listeners. For example, students, who might be the most zealous admirers of the station, are occupied with the exams and, hence, can not spend the time listening to their favorite rock-ballads for now. It isn't mentioned whether the decline is long-term or seasonal.

Second, the author assumes that continuing decrease in local sales of recorded music means that overall citizens tend to listen to the music less and less. However, more probable explanation could be that nowdays, in the century of digital everything, people just switching from discs and music players to music apps on their phones and laptops, making CDs obsolete. Thus, author's observation can not be used to support his suggestion.

Finally, the author proposes to change the direction of the station and go with news and talk, stating that this form of radio is “increasingly popular” in the area. Yet, this advice might lead to more harm than good. If the competitors in the news and talk radio format are very strong, attraction of the new listeners will be an onerous task, moreover, the station might loose its current loyal listeners. Before jumping to such a dramatic changes, it is recommended to conduct a thorough research on competitors and potential new listeners.

To conclude, the argument doesn't sound cogent. The evidence in support of the conclusion that the radio station should change to a different format does little to prove the conclusion since it does not address the points raised above. Essentially, the argument could have been strengthen by the diligent research on the demographic trend of the listeners and by presenting survey data of the favorite music and shows of the citizens.