The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of juniper cafe , a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city :" we must reduce overhead here at the cafe .Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays , we will now open at 8 a.m. weekdays .In weekends, we will be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. . the decrease in hours of operation will help save money because we won't be paying for utilities , employee wages , or other costs during the time we are closed . this the best strategy for us to see the money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

In this memorandum the cafe owner is suggesting a strategy for his cafe to remain in business by reducing the number of operating hours. This reduction would then led to saving up money which would have alternately been used up for other overheads which come with there present operating hours. However, this argument lacks any such strong evidence which would indeed help in saving the local cafe.

First of all, it has been mentioned that juniper cafe is a small local coffee shop in a small american city, thus , making it a very convinient choice for people living near this coffee shop as they must not be having a lot of choice. Considering this,one might even say that this cafe cannot afford to be closed for long hours because it might lead to significant decline in the number of customers it receives. This coffee shop can simply not afford to lose any customers at this time because of a change in schedule which is incongruent with people's needs.

The author suggests that cutting the overheads by reducing the number of operating hours will eventually help in saving money,however, he has overlooked the possiblity that the hours he has cut down might clash with the busiest time of the cafe. One cannot simply assume reduction as directly leading to saving without considering the fact that this reduction of hours could reduce the no received customers.With lesser number of customers received things could really go south for the coffee shop.

The memorandum shows that the coffee shop would open late on weekdays. This can have an adverse effect. On weekdays, most people like to have their breakfast early as they rush off to work . The late opening time of the shop may not very well suit them. Also, on weekends people have a tendency to go out in the evening in their leisure hours . The early closing of the cafe could again disparate from their customers preference.

The author needs to bolster the argument with better evidence . Considering the fact of cutting overheads, the coffee shop should be closed only at those hours when the shop sees minimum or no activity. In this way, the cost on utilties will be saved and their would be no need for any job cuts.Also, they should keep special discounts or other gifts occasionally for their regular customers as it will only enhnace thier likeness towards the shop .The ambience can be made more homely for enticing more customers.