The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to

decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and

explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum by the owner of Movies Galore, a line of reasoning is presented which should be scrutinized before the final conclusion is believed with full confidence. On the first glance, the reasoning sounds to be without many loopholes, but it is infact riddled with assumptions and leaps in logic: it is not answered if the reduction in expenses won't come at the expense of profit itself, or if the success of a single store in implementation of a strategy guarantees the success of other nine stores. In addition, due to the lack of figures on the actual popularity of their special bargain offers, it is doubtful if lowering of the expenses is actually the only viable option.

The author is of strong opinion that the lowering of expenses is the only method by which the stores can reverse the trend in the profit. The reasoning provided is that a different optio--of raising the prices of the rentals--would instead lead to poorer sales. Firstly, there are other methods like improvement in the marketing strategies, which could help increase the sales, and thus, the profits. In which case, the author's strong conviction that cutting the expenses is the only viable option would fall apart, and so would the final conclusion. Secondly, if the prices of the rentals are raised, the profit gained from the increased margin could actually surpass the loss from the dip in the total sales, which would undermine the author's conclusion that it is not an option worth considering.

The author goes on to describe how a store in downtown Marston was able to lower its expenses by reducing the time of operation and by reducing the stocks of old movies. However, the author doesn't provide the much needed evidence by which the subsequent conclusion can be relied upon--that the store saw overall growth in profits. In a case where the store's change in timings and cutting of stocks led to sinking of sales more than the savings from the expenses, the author's whole construct would fall apart; cutting down of expenses, then, wouldn't actually lead to good profits.

A more subtle assumption made by the author is on the similarity of all ten stores. Consider the following: the downtown Marston store actually manged to make profits, despite cutting down the expenses, for the reason that the timing changes and the stock changes didn't matter to the kind of patrons to the stores; maybe the regulars visited much earlier than 6:00 pm and represented the youth population more, who bought the latest movies more than the older ones. All the while, the other stores had different type of visitors, for instance, the ones who visited at the night more, and bought older movies more often. This scenario would mean that the assumption of similarity of all the ten stores is false, and the success of the metioned stored wouldn't be mirrored in other stores. Thus not actually leading to the desired results; the conclusion would be false.

Hence, it can be concluded that without the substantial evidence on actual profitability of the downtown Marston store's new method, the actual insufficiency of other methods for increasing the profit, and the similarity between all the store's patrons, the conclusion can't be relied upon.