The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores"

The owner of Movies Galore states that the only option available to reverse the declining profits is to reduce the operating expenses. However, the reasoning behind this suggestion is not strong enough and does not guarantee a significant increase in profits. The arguments pointed out by the owner has numerous loopholes that needs to addressed.

First, a recent decline in profits was mentioned in the memorandum. Additional information regarding this decline is required to analyze the situation properly. The profit decline could have been temporary or it could have been consistent for the past six months. Also, this decline could have been small enough for the business to still survive without taking any measures. A reduction in profit does not necessarily imply that the business was running at loss. For a temporary and minute decline in profits, taking an action as strong as this would be meaningless.

Secondly, the author mentions that the operating expenses of the store in Marston was decreased by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than at 9:00 P.M.. Thought the operating expenses would have reduced this way, it could have caused a reduction in customers. A lot many of the customers could have been of the working class who visits the store after 6:00 P.M. or customer who prefer watching movies at night. The author also points out that the store has a reputation for offering great movies at low prices. However, his suggestion of eliminating movies older than five years would probably put the store out of business. It could be entirely possible that the store was famous for the classic movies it provided. The huge profit could have been because the store provided most older movies that its competitors couldn't provide. This suggestion would increase profits at the cost of the store's reputation.

Thirdly, the owner suggests that similar changes must be implemented in other stores for increasing profits. The author fails to provide evidence that a decrease in operating expenses has provided a profit greater than the current profit in Marston. Additionally, even if a significant increase in profit was noted in Marston, it is not necessary the same result would be observed in the other nine stores. The other stores could be located at rural areas, or they could have their competitor's next door. Following the same method in every other store without considering outside factors would lead to steeper decline in profits.

To sum it all,implementing the suggestion provided by the owner cannot prove to be fruitful without considering additional information regarding the profit charts, the customer databases and store locations. A re-analysis of the current situation is necessary before taking such drastic measures.