The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the following memorendum by the Owner of Movie Galore he tries to explain the new policy that will help the firm to get by an unwanted develeopment in their feild of operation which is video retail bussiness or more specifically a chain video rental stores. In the owner’s memo, there are more than a few unclear assumptions which should be cleared in order to make the letter more productive and a good bussiness memo. Business languge should be clearer. This memo is an example of unclear bussiness memo and communication. Here are essential points that the author of the memo should improve and essential questions the author should answer.

First, it is unclear how much the changes in the franchise the owner refres were productive. The owner says only that costs were “signficantly decreased” in operations. But, in bussiness there is much a call for a quantitative information. And surely, the other franchise managers/owners could be helped with a more specific information of how much is “significant” really is. An improved version would include specific numbers and also the explanation of motiviation to shut the operation in the given hours particularly instead of other hours.

Further, there is an assumption that changes in one franchise are automatically transferable to another one. This is many a times not the case at all. Every store has its own mechanics of operations and its own particularities which the people who are in-charge of it must operate and manage. It is not clear what the owner ment by “similiar” changes which referred in the passage. Does the author means same hours of store operation or does the author means cutting the stock of old movies or both? And yet it is also unclear if such changes will be productive in any other store because each store has it’s own story and there is not enough information about how and why such changes like in the first store should work out well in all the other ones.

Finally, there is an issue of bussiness vialbilty, we know that video rentals is a bussines that due to a massive disruption from online retailers such as Netflix and other direct online companies that stream videos. However we do not know were are the franchises located. Had we known the distance, the better advice might have been to merge few of the shops into one and become a botique video shop in order not to inccure further operational losses on the massive disruption.

To conclude, there are many questions that could lead the bussines owner of Movie Galore to be more specific and prompt in the memorandum. There should be an effort to quantify the data and be more percised in the communication with the store owners. We have discuss some but not all of the points which the owner should have sharpen in order to make a more viable adjustment to the bussines in the light of the massive and grand changes in their field of operation.