The following appeared in a memorandum from the regional manager of the Taste of Italy restaurant chain:

“After the first month of service, the new restaurant in the Flatplains Mall, which uses the Chipless brand of wine glasses,

has reported a far lower rate of breakage than our other restaurants that use the Elegance brand. Since servers and

bartenders at all of our restaurants frequently report that breakage is a result of the type of wineglass, and the customers at the Flatplains Mall restaurant seem to like the Chipless style of glasses, we should switch all of our restaurants to the

Chipless brand.”

The regional manager suggests that all the restaurants should switch to the chipless brand of wine glasses in order to lower the rate of breakage. This conclusion is derived without considering important information and a number of questions need to answered in order to decide if this recommendation would produce the expected results.

Firstly, the suggestion relies on the claim that lower rate of breakage has been observed in the new restaurant using chipless brand of wine glasses. The manager blindly trusts this claim without considering the possibility that the report could be false. Even if the report made was true, additional details regarding the index by which the breakage is lowered is not provided. Furthermore, it is probable that the reduced breakage was due to the extra care by which the servers handled the glass as the restaurant was new. Also, the glasses being new would have been able to withstand minute accidents. These plausible scenarios are entirely ignored by the manager while reaching the conclusion.

Secondly, the recommendation of the manager is based on assertion that breakage is a result of the type of wineglass. However, this might not necessarily be the case. Breakage of a wineglass could depend on additional factors such as the method employed in storing the wineglasses, the gentleness with which the glasses are handled, the care taken during washing of the glasses and the time of purchase of the glasses. Old glasses when stored in rough places and handled with less gentleness are likely to break more often. Such criterias need to be evaluated before jumping into the conclusion.

Thirdly, the suggestion to switch wineglasses also depends on the claim that customers at the new restaurant seems to like the chipless style of glasses. This claim is not backed by any solid evidence. Since only chipless glasses are used in the new restaurant, it is unsafe to assume that customers would prefer the said style to the elegant brand.

To sum up, the argument is rationally flawed and unconvincing. To strengthen the argument further, information regarding the customer preference, cause for breakage and the reports from the new restaurant needs to be evaluated. Only after considering all possible scenarios should the conclusion be drawn up.