The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The chairperson of the West Egg Town Council asserts that the town’s garbage disposal will not get filled for a period longer than five years as the residents are strongly committed to recycling of waste. To bolster his claim he puts forward the results of a survey that had highly encouraging statistics. He further informs that it has been predicted that the inhabitants of the town will recycle more as the pickup charges are being increased. The conclusion though looks appealing at first look fails to provide evidence for many assumptions. Hence making those assumptions undependable and unreliable.

Firstly, the argument readily accepts the fact that recycling of waste by the residents will be greatly helpful in extending time. Until which the town can use the garbage disposal landfill. However, it is quite possible that residential waste makes up a very small portion of the entire waste generated by the town. It is highly possible that a humungous amount of waste is generated by the industries in that town. It has not been informed that it is an industrial town or a residential area, making the entire claim too weak to be relied upon. The factories and industries byproducts, constructional waste and hospital waste might be contributing a major portion. It is of utmost importance to identify the major source of these waste. Had the argument provided with details that residents are only the source of waste the argument would have been easier to evaluate.

Moreover, the argument asserts that in a recent survey over 90 percent of the respondents forswear that they will undertake more recycle methods in the future. However, it has not been mentioned has to whether the survey was conducted by an authenticated committed. It also fails to inform whether the residents of the West Egg Town were a part of the survey. It is needed here that the numbers and percentage of the people are presented. It is also essential to know the range of the survey to be assured that the entire town was covered. To illustrate, if a thousand people are living in a town and the survey focused only on ten to twenty people; promises of these small percentages can not account for a large population of thousand people. It will be highly beneficial if the argument throws light on the authenticity of the survey and the number of people surveyed in comparison to the total population of the town.

Finally, the argument believes that increasing the garbage pick up charges will result in people recycling their wastes more. Here again, the argument fails to substantiate itself. The argument does not inform us as to whether the difference between the price which was charged before and the new price is high enough for people to change their habits. To elaborate my point, supposedly the town is full of opulent people, and paying a high price would not be a matter to them. The knowledge about the financial condition of demographics of the town is required to provide a surety that the new pick up charge is high enough.

To sum up, the chairperson decision is based on many assumptions that are got strong enough to upload the prediction that the landfills will last longer than their expected due date. To strengthen his argument the author needs to provide a clear picture of the financial status of the people and also the type of town that West Egg is whether it is a commercial or a residential area. Without answers to these questions, one is left to wonder whether the decision will be beneficial.