The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council Two years ago consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the past two

According to the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council, it would take a longer time for the landfill to be filled up than it was predicted two years ago with the current popularity of and booming societal committment to recyling. However, for the passage still lacks a considerable amount of evidence that could affect its argument's validity, in order to substantiate its claim, more time of evaluation and researching is needed.

The foremost evidence to collect and evaluate is the quantity of unrecyclable garbage in recent two years. The passage only mentions the increased amount of the recyclable garbage to bolster its claim that more recyling would protract the time given for the free space of landfill to run out. However, what the passage clearly omits is whether the unrecyclable garbage has also increased. If the collected data projects that there has been a similar rise in unrecyclable garbage for the last two years, it would completely refute and eventually weaken the passage's claim, as the rate of the landfill being piled up would in fact accelerate, regardless of the quantity of recycling.

On top of the quantity of unrecyclable garbage, the chairperson has to ascertain the reliability of the survey. The passage introduces a survey's result that holds propitious implications that more than "90 percent of the respondents" would eagerly recycle in the future. However, the passage does not further elaborate on the details of the survey, such as the size of respondents, locations, and the method. These multiple variables could negatively impugn the reliability of the survey. For example, if the survey was conducted through a volunteer method, its outcome would suffer from a serious bias, as the respondents would tend to have more interest in recycling more than the others. Likewise, if any of the aforementioned variables come into a play that questions the validity of the survey, the passage's argument would gravely lose its validity as well.

Last evidence to examine is the increase in the local consumption. The passage's main strength exudes from the fact that there has been an increase in recycling. Nevertheless, if the percent increase in recycling for the last two years is actually parsed to be comparable or correlated to that of consumption rise, that may indicate that the increase in recycling is just a byproduct of the overall risen consumption. In other words, for the last two years, people might not have performed recycling more individually - rather, an increase in consumption might have engendered a greater total quantity of garbage. Has this case been proved with the newly acquired evidence, the passage's argument further loses its strength.

To encapsulate everything, despite all the evidence compiled and studied, the passage fails to lend a cogent argument. In realtiy, the passage suffers from faulty reasonings

based on incomplete evidence. Thus, it can be concluded that it is too foolhardy to accept the passage's claim until further analyses of evidence as well as its implications are conducted.