The following appeared n a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown.

"If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees,we need to encourage residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighbouring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste."

In a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown it appeared that the speaker has asserted a claim that if we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal, the residents of Masontown should be encouraged to recycle more. The claim is further strengthened by the speaker by citing the example of their neighbouring town "Hayesworth", in which a law was passed requiring all the households to recycle paper and glass or else would have to pay the fine. Moreover, due to this in Hayesworth the garden disposal costs significantly decreased. So, the speaker claims that if we implement an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle Masontown would save money on disposal of its waste. The recommendation done by the author relies on assumptions and the argument is weak, and has several major flaws.

Since the speaker has asserted the example of their neighbouring town Hayesworth which implemented the law to recycle the things but, the speaker doesn't provide the information of how many people followed the law and if the fine was imposed on them who collected the fines, moreover only two items were recycled and how much amount of the garbage disposal cost did they save. Although, speaker compares the people of Hayesworth and Masontown it is not evident that on what basis he does so. It’s likely that the people of Hayesworth are more ecofriendly and so have started the recycling of the households while the people are not concerned about the surrounding.

In addition, the speaker also claims that there should be advertising campaign for encouraging the residents to recycle but he never says who would bring about the campaign. It might be also possible that there is no place near the Hayesworth for the proper disposal of the households and that might have affected the areas of Hayesworth so they passed this law for recycling. There are several factors which should be considered before comparing the two cities that it might happen that the people in Hayesworth are literate and are young youths with the passion for saving the environment and are rich enough to afford the recycling machines for their household things. However, the people of Masontown may not be literate enough to know more about the environment and are aged people who cannot afford the things required for recycling. Also, it has not been asserted by the speaker that how would they separate the materials of the paper and glass and what techniques would they adopt for recycling. So, to strengthened the recommendation the argument must provide proper methods which are going to be adopted and more appropraite data needs to be provided to encourage people.