The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis. "in Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15% over the last three years, whereas an increasing num

In the newspaper article, based on a survey, the author claims that job satisfaction in graduated students of law school in Megalopolis takes precedence over high salaries; that is why they prefer to be hired in small firms rather than large ones. Although the writer of this article tries to propose certain reasons to persuade the readers about the decline in the enthusiasm of law school graduates to get a job in large companies, from my perspective, this article is flawed for several reasons that I discuss bellow.

Firstly, though the exact percent of the declined job in large firms is stated, it is not mentioned in the passage that by what percent the number of graduates increased in small firms. As far as this amount is not clarified, we can’t infer the severity of this change. Further, the precise number of small and large companies three years ago are not mentioned. This issue is essential since statistics work with the proportional values; thus, it would be much reliable if the number of graduates per company, whether large or small, could be calculated separately and then, compare these numbers to each other as good measures.

Moreover, the survey conducted on first-year students is spurious since this research is related to the graduated students; therefore, the representatives of this survey are incorrectly collected and we can’t generalize the findings to the graduated students. Furthermore, the term job satisfaction is vague. It should be delineated in order to obviate any misunderstanding. For instance, some people define job satisfaction as shorter working hours while others consider longer vacation times for this term. Thus, not only does the survey clarify this term, but also it fails to conduct research using a suitable representatives.

Thirdly, some graduates of law schools may prefer to work outside Megalopolis but it appears that this article considered only the companies located in this area. It is apparent that the author has overlooked this issue since some students live in other states and return to their cities when graduated. Therefore, the conclusion of this article rests under the assumption that all of the graduated students of this school should find a job in this region.

In sum, despite several flawed assumptions discussed above, the writer of this article can strengthen it if they eliminate all doubts and find out what should be altered in order to motivate graduated students of law school to be hired in large companies