The following appeared on the op-ed page of a local newspaper:

“As violent crime rates have slowly inched up in our city, it is time for city officials to take a stand to protect citizens from

harm. The first step is to gate and lock downtown parks after dark. Keys can be passed out to apartment owners and other

local residents to ensure that they have continued access to these public spaces while protecting against people who are

using the park for things other than the recreational activities for which these public spaces were designed. This approach

has been taken in three of the five suburbs that surround this city and polls of both homeowners and police departments in all three report higher property values and lower crime rates. The city needs to act now before we reach a tipping point.”

The author of the claim points out various arguments that are flawed and illogical line of reasoning is employed while reaching the presented suggestion. Hence, additional information needs to analyzed and strong evidence are required to substantiate the claim before taking such a drastic measure.

Firstly, the author mentions that the violent crime rates have increased slowly in the city. However, there is no mention about the rate of the increase or the basis on which the crime is categorized as violent. Also, the cause for this increase in crime has to be analyzed. The increase could be because of a dispute with the government or a campaign for rights. If this cause is evaluated, then it is possible that these crimes could be diminished by means other than the one suggested by the author.

Secondly, the presents the recommendation lock down public parks after dark. However, this line of thought is faulty and is based on the assumption that violent crimes occur only in the dark. Hence, information regarding the crime rate at night and daylight needs to published to strengthen the argument. Also, the claim also assumes that apartment owners other local residents are not likely to take part in violent crimes. This need not be the case necessarily.

Thirdly, the author exemplifies reports from three suburbs. The polls taken from the three suburb regions show a decrease in crime rates. However, the author provides no assurance that these polls can be trusted. Also, the author fails to provide the index by which these crime rates have decreased in the suburb areas. Also, the analogy of the author between suburb regions and city region is not justifiable. To strengthen this analogy, the author needs to provide solid crime rate figures of the suburbs and the city. It is possible that the crime rates in the city far exceeds that of the suburbs and hence could render this comparison undue.

To sum, the claim is not substantiated with sufficient evidence to strengthen the case and thus the conclusion is unconvincing. Hence, the author needs to gather and evaluate additional information and study the situation further before providing a solution to the problem at hand.