The following appeared as an opinion-editorial in a local newspaper:

In the last 10 years, the number of patrons to the local library has decreased by a factor of 5, while during that time the number of purchases of electronic books has increased by a factor of 10. The director of the library believes that the cause of the decrease in patrons is due to the library not advertising as effectively as do online merchants that sell electronic books. Therefore, the library should double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will frequent the library.

It appeared as an opinion-editorial in a local newspaper that in last 10 years the number of patrons to the local library have substantially decreased by a factor of 5 while, the number of electronic books purchases have increased by a factor of 10. So, the director of the library believes that the cause for the decrease in patrons is due to online merchants are effectively advertising. Additionally, he asserts that the library should double the amount they spend on advertising which would lead more patrons to frequently visit library. Perhaps, this argument ultimately fails as it suffers from several critical fallacies and sounds unconvincing and weak.

Firstly, a major lacuna in the argument is the unfair comparison of the local library and the purchase of electronic books. And, as the arguer have asserted that in the last 10 years the number of patrons has decreased and purchasing of electronic book have gone up by a factor of 10. But, the reason which the arguer claim is due to proper advertising done by the electronic book seller. Moreover, it is also possible that the electronic book seller might be giving huge amount of sale on the purchase of electronic book and might also provide an offline access to those files which could be easily accessed by the reader whenever he want by using his or her mobile. The reason for the substantial decrease of visit of patrons to the library could also be due to they are not interested anymore in visiting library and reading books there, the other reason could also be that the library charges more amount to the patron than the purchase of electronic books. However, the arguer claim that the decrease in patrons to local library is due to the effectiveness of advertising which is done by the electronic book seller. So, to overcome this the arguer tells that the local library should double the amount which they spend on advertising to attract the patrons. But, the argument asserted is weak and could be not true as it is possible that even after increasing their money for the advertisement the local library may not get frequent patrons and may incur huge loss due to it. Additionally, it is also possible that the patrons are no more interested in going to local library and even if they do visit it, it doesn't mean that they would become permanent visitor. However, the arguer could have mentioned about various offers which they would provide to the frequent patrons who purchase books and would probably successful.

So, the recommendation done by the arguer is weak and does not convince the reader and should provide enough evidence and offers to attract the patrons.