The following appeared as part of an annual report sent to stockholders by Olympic Foods, a processor of frozen foods:

“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits.”

The above argument tries to establish a direct link between cost-efficiency and experience. It states that as time goes the colour film processing is becoming more efficient as organizations acquire new technologies to produce. So the author implies that this idea also applied to a processor of frozen food company as it has already operated approximately 25 years. However, the author’s line of thoughts is not very convincing. He has not been able to give logics for his reasons as the processor of frozen food and colour film processing are very different from each other to be compared. Also, as time goes the demand for the first has increased substantially whereas the demand for the frozen food is not high since the healthy life style has become widely propagandised. And finally, over time the technology used in food processing is getting more advanced and it is costly to install it.

The author has talked about increased profits and decreased costs in film processing and assumed that the same situation will be experienced in a processing food firm. However, he has skipped the assumption that these productions are totally different and making simile is not logically correct. They use various inputs and produce different outputs. The increased efficiency with long experience in one sphere does not signify the same impact in the other one. Therefore, the author should have strengthened his argument by providing a comparison of more identical spheres.

One must understand that for the mentioned period of time the film processing might be successful and accordingly the production for those conditions is more cost effective. However, it might be that the frozen food production now is less requested as such factors as healthy life style has significant effect on demand. Some researchers suggest that the frozen foods promote diseases, so this kind of claims affects market negatively. Decrease demand makes companies spend more on marketing and advertisements, as a result of which the costs are increasing. Hence, even if the technology advances it does no mean that the production will be more lucrative.

Another point is that to be more efficient firms should use latest technologies. Even if the technology advances, not all companies might install this updated equipment as it requires huge funding to purchase it. Moreover, it is probable that old staff is not aware of using this updated equipment some firms should attract new personnel who are able to use it. The specialists who are able to use new technologies require higher salaries. Because of these costs companies might use old equipment which is not as efficient as new ones.

In short, we could say that the author could not support his argument. He has not supplied any evidence to prove his point. This comparison is not logically correct. He should have studied similar cases of other food processing producers. Before any decision is made, all these things mast be considered, not simply the years of experience.