The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There is a research that illustrates the connection between the average number of employees’ sleeping hours per night and the success of the company. After collecting the information of 300 male and female advertising executives, it suggests that the firms whose advertising executives who sleep less than 6 hours per night would have higher profit and faster growth. The arguer, therefore, claims that entrepreneurs should hire those who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. However, the argument is unconvincing because it relies on a sort of equivocal assumptions.

According to the article, the conclusion of employees who sleep less than 6 hours per night will be beneficial for a company’s profit and growth is based on the information of advertising executives. Nevertheless, the arguer infers that any other business should select the workers who sleep less than 6 hours per night. It seems that the arguer misinterprets the study. For instance, Isis, a Muslim country, is cruel and notorious, but it would be a misinterpretation of all Muslims are cruel and notorious. In conclusion, it will be unacceptable to indicate a business should hire those who sleep less than 6 hours per night to achieve higher profit and faster growth.

There is an unstated assumption of the argument is whether the employees are working when they are awake. It could be possible that these employees who sleep less than 6 hours per night only work for a few hours. Furthermore, their effectiveness on jobs could also be a question. Despite these employees truly work for more than 18 hours per day, they could make a mistake easily because of a lack of sleeping hours. Any of these scenarios, if true, would undermine the claim that a business whose employees sleep less than 6 hours has higher profit and faster growth.

On the other hand, the outcome of 6 hours is an average number from the study. It needs to be clarified if advertising executives sleep equal 6 hours every day. One of the specialties of advertising industries is their creativity. The advertising executives may continuously work for several days when they have inspiration, and that is very different from other business. It could be a positive connection between working hours and the successful to ordinary companies whereas the advertising business focus on the works they completed. This underlying difference will make the presumption of high profit and faster growth being dubious.

To sum up, the relation of less sleeping and higher profit and faster growth is unreasonable. There are so many unwarranted inferences and essential diversities between advertising industries and other business. Without the stronger evidence, we should be wary about admitting the argument that the companies hire the employees who sleep less than 6 hours have higher profit and faster growth.