The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Employees spending more working hours in their office and at home obviously bring more benefits to their firm. However, the suggestion that advertisement enterprises should hire workers needing less than 6 hours per day is based on numerous doubtful premises, unconvincing assumptions and questionable evidences. Therefore, the argument lacks validity.

The number of interviewees, 300 male and female Mentian, whether accounts for a noticeable percentage of advertising workers or not remains vague. In fact, sleeping long time ago has been considered as an important factor for memory forming, thus could greatly affect the productivity of any laborer. In addition, that the content of the investigation and the people responsible for this study whether are psychological and economic professional or not was not included in the argument. To be more specific, the researches done by experienced researchers of course are much more reliable and logical than amateur ones. Thus the article should be more forthcoming for the information related to the analysts and content of the interview.

Another suspicious assumption concerned is that the success of businesses regardless of their field could hinge upon their recruitment of 6-hour-workers based on study of advertising firm in Mentia. Many transportation companies where truck drivers regularly work under arduous environment due to long trips definitely put their drivers in susceptibility when only laborers who sleep less than 6 hours are recruited. Likewise, numerous business fields where success of an enterprise depends on their workers’ concentration such as education service and medical should not ask for a reduction of sleep. Therefore, in order to strengthen conclusion, more rigorous research of other business fields must be thoroughly conducted.

Besides, the conclusion did not establish a convincing reason between companies’ accomplishments and sleeps of laborers. There are hypotheses could be employed argue against: a successful tycoon in fact often receives more contracts compared to smaller ones and in that case the workers need to work harder; many advertising firms in the study achieve high profit margins and successes attributed to their financial departments as well as CEO’s right decisions. In general, the argument would be more convincing if the article demonstrated that the successes of the advertising companies are exclusively accounted for their workers who sleep less than 6 hours every day.

Generally speaking, the final conclusion of the article lacks validity due to the fact that it did not provide reliable information of the study and connections between advertising and other fields companies.