The following appeared as a part of a letter of a scientific journal.

“A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual’s level of simulation. The study showed that in simulating simulations (such as encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in simulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author here has proposed a statement regarding the effects of birth order on an individual's level of simulation. But, unfortunately his proposal is rife with holes and assumptions. The statement, though interesting is not convincing and is not strong enough to define a simulation situation.

The argument is giving rise to many questions. One of them is what are the consequences of the double hormone cortisol production in the first born monkeys? It is said that the cortisol primes the body for increased activity levels but it is mentioned nowhere whether this is good or bad.

Secondly, the author is mentioning the level of cortisol in human firstborns as well. But no relevance can be found between this statement and the argument author is making. Also, like in the case of monkeys, nothing is expatiated regarding the effect of high cortisol levels.

It is also mentioned that the first time mother monkeys have higher levels of cortisol than those who have several offspring during pregnancy. But it is not clear what he is trying to convey with this fact. Here again he fails to describe how this information is relevant in the study of the effects of birth order on an individual’s level of simulations.

The argument given here is highly ambiguous and is presenting insufficient information to support its point. While the proposal does illuminate a possibility, it requires more information and study before drawing any conclusion.