The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern valley University:

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

The arguer has asserted that in the past few years Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in enrolments and admissions applications and the reason being poor teaching and inadequate library resources. Further, the author have asserted that to increase the number of students to their university and to regain the most position of most prestigious university they need to start a fund-raising campaign among the alumni which would allow them to broaden the range of subjects and increase their size of library facilities. But, the argument relies on assumptions and there is no clear evidence provided in the recommendation and is therefore, weak and unconvincing with several major flaws.

Firstly, there is deterioration in the enrolments and admissions applications in last few years and the major reason which is provided by students of this university is poor teaching and lack of library resources. However, the arguer doesn't provide substantial evidence about how much has been the decline in the enrolment’s and admissions applications. Further, the arguer should have provided more information about how many students were being asked for the reason behind this decline. There are various questions which need to be answered such as: Is the reason behind the decline of enrolment’s poor teaching and inadequate library resources? Or their might be decline in the enrolment’s due to high fees of the Fern valley university whereas it might happen that the university doesn't produce good placements for the students, or it could be possible that the library have resources but which are obsolete and the area being small. So, to bolster the argument the arguer could have provided the survey result of 100 students and provided sufficient reason behind the decline other than the personal views of students.

Secondly, the arguer also asserts that to increase the number of students attending the university and to regain their position as the prestigious university in their area they would have to initiate a campaign asking their alumni's to raise funds. But would this be sufficient enough to get enough students? Will the university again regain its position for sure? Even if it regains its position as prestigious university would there be enough enrolment’s and admissions applications that year. What would the university of the teachers which have poor teaching skill? Would the alumni raise enough fund require for the increase of library facilities? These are the questions which need to be answered by the arguer to make it convincing for the reader.