The following appeared in a report to the board of a company that produces men’s sporting apparel:

“While national television advertising is increasingly expensive, it would cost roughly the same amount to reach the same

number of people by buying print advertising space in various magazines. Since launching our newest TV ad campaign,

sales have gone up significantly, but not in those markets which are served only by print ads. We should, therefore, increase

our investment in TV ads and should not renew our magazine contracts once they are up.”

The recommendation provided is based on questionable arguments and faulty line of reasoning which renders it unconvincing. The author remains oblivious to certain facts and additional information needs to be gathered before taking drastic measures.

Firstly, the author relies on the assumption that the expenditure for advertising in national television is roughly the same as that required for advertising in various magazine. However, details on exact figures for these expenses are not revealed. Is the difference in expense affordable by the company? Can the fact that both types of advertisement gather the same number of people be trusted? Do these advertisements focus on different crowds or do they pull in the same sector of people? Such questions need to be answered to strengthen the argument at hand.

Secondly, the author mentions that the sales have elevated through TV ads but has not seen any escalation in markets served by only print ads. This premise on which the author bases his conclusion is vague. It is possible the hike was because the TV advertisement addressed markets that were not considered by print ads. The market served by the print ads might already be pulling in all possible sales which might have resulted in the consistent sale pattern. These avenues of reasoning are ignored by the author while coming up with the proposal.

Thirdly, the author suggests that magazine contracts should not be renewed and investment in TV ads need to be increased. However, the downside of cancelling the magazine contracts are not explored. Are the magazine advertisements responsible for major sales? Could the cancellation mean a drastic decline in customers? Can this decline be moderated by an increase in sales through TV advertisements? Will the increase in investment for TV ads provide a proportional increase in sales? The author disregards these questions whose answer determines the soundness of the action that has been suggested.

To sum up, the arguments of the author are unsubstantiated and does not provide enough support to the conclusion it draws up. Hence, to further strengthen this argument, the author needs to consider additional information and provide strong evidences to reach a justifiable conclusion.