The following appeared on theWeb site Science News Today.

“In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument concludes that having most of the meals with family prevent students from bad behaviors. To justify this, the arguments cites a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents. The results of the survey indicate that students who eat most meals with their families had lower possibility to take illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Those students also tended to have higher grades, better self-esteem and lower rates of depression. The author also pointed out that 30 percent of the teens had at least seven meals per week with their families. The results clearly have alternative way to interpret, therefore the conclusion is unconvincing.

To begin with, author made the connection between having most meals with family and having less use of illegal drugs, tobacco or alcohol, in order to support his or her conclusion. The author assumes that eating with their family caused the student to stay away from those bad behaviors mentioned above. However, the author may confused with the reason and results. It is possible that students who do not use have those bad behaviors tend to go home after school and have dinner with their family. It is the good behaviors made them to eat at home, not the other way around.

The same logic goes to the good behaviors. The survey only identified the association between good behaviors and having meals with family. It did not show any causality between them. Two things which happened simultaneously do not necessarily have any relationship at all. For instance, we easily identify other traits students with good behaviors may share, but it does not automatically mean that these traits are the reasons that the students have good behaviors.

The authenticity of the results is also doubtful. The students with good behaviors may regard eating at home a good behavior, therefore reported higher number of meals at home that it really is. Therefore, the results showed wrong relationship between eating at home and good behaviors. The survey also have results on things that cannot be valued as number such as self-esteem. Students who wants to be seen as good students may report that they have high self-esteem and do not have depression.

Even if we admit that there are some sort of relationship between eating at home and the behaviors of students, we cannot conclude that having a high number of family meals keeps teens from bad behaviors. The survey only studied usage of illegal drugs, tobacco and alcohol. There are also many other bad behaviors such as being bully at school or cheating. Eating at home may or may not have relationships with them, which needs further investigation to make a conclusion.

Overall, the argument is weak since it does not rule our all other possibilities. It made a very crude and bold interpretation and conclusion on the results of the survey. To make a better recommendation, the author needs to give further evidence on how exactly having meals with family associated with the behaviors of students.