The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that that entry of the illegal immigrants should be checked with stringent rules so as to eliminate the threats to nations economy and national identity due to that. But there are certain flaws in the argument. I would suggest a basis to strengthen this rgument.

Firstly, the autonomy or independence of a country depends on the political powers ruling the country and the nation's population itself, as to how they allow themselves to be treated by the others. It has been well asserted by the author that illegal immigrants pose threat to the economy and national identity. It can only be possible if the citizens of that country allow immigrants with the rights to pose a threat to them. Nevertheless, the independence of the citizens is a factor of political freedom provided by its government, not the cause of illegal immigrants entering that nation.

Secondly, it cannot be so aptly said that the strength of borders are not the only factor responsible to entry of illegal immigrants, it may the strength of border security forces or their carelessness over the security national borders.

Thirdly, undoubtably the immigration results in formation of heterogenous population in the country. But as stated, illegal immigrants pose threat to the nation, all should not be made to return to their home country. It may be possible that some immigrants, not all are harmful. Rather some may bring pride and profits to the nation. If these people are sent back to their country, any how the economy will be affected. There should be some barrier to check the number of illegal immigrants posing threat to the country.

Fourthly, I somehow contradict and support the author's point of view. To support, it has been stated that illegal immigrants do pose severe threat to the economy and thus ruin the peace of the nation. There should be some stringent laws to abolish the entry of such individuals and keep a strict check over this issue.

To sum up, I would say that the illegal immigrants though pose a threat to the economy, but not all of them are causative of it. Asking all to leave the nation without any enquiry would be waspish and unjustifiable. Also the strength of borders is not just a determinant of its solid strength or security force, but it also depends on the skill and training given to security force and their attentiveness. Moreover, the autonomy of the nation is not at all dependent on the number of illegal immigrants entering that country, infact it depends of the citizen's thought and will.