The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The letter written by the author lacks vital evidence and valid reasoning as to why the school should change its private vendor.It is true that some students find the lunch not enjoyable but they do not speak for the students of the whole school. More concrete evidence is required to justify what is mentioned in the letter.

The author says that some students of the school do not find the lunch options enjoyable. Well, that might be true from the students point of view but there might be other group of students or their parents who find the low-fat, low-calorie meals very beneficial for them as it keeps them fit and healthy. Conducting a survey and comparing the statistics would have given a better picture of what most of the students/parents think of the private vendor.This would help the school management to decide the final verdict.

It is also mentioned that that the plan of the management to bring the private vendor might cause a negative effect as it would cause the students to bring their own less healthy food. This statement is absolutely baseless as it is the parents who would decide what the students would eat. Mentioning this suggests that they would allow the students to bring less healthy food to the school. If the parents support the school and do not provide the children with money to buy outside food, then it would be good for the children at the end. While the concern remains that the food is not tasty or enjoyable, the concerned parents could request that the school management could advice their private vendor swift to make the dishes a little more enjoyable and tasty while at the same time make sure that the nutrition factor remains.

Thus the author must come up with valid reasoning and proper evidence in justifying his point that would provide a wholesome conclusion in this matter.