The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The passage describes a letter from a parent to the principal of a school that hired a new private vendor to the school's cafiteria. The parent is angry and affraid that their kid will not be able to consume the cafiteria's "low-fat, low-calorie meals" because they will not be tasty and "enjoyable" for them. Yet, the letter is falsly assuming several assumptions that could and should be checked in order to shed a light on the real situation from the principal perspective and from the whole groip of the students perspective as well.

First, it seems that the parent is drawing a conclustion on the general population of school attendees based on his child alone. It is really unclear how many kids are in the same situation as the one of the letter writer. Therefore, it will be wise to ask how many kids will be able to consume the foods from the new cafiteria and how many will not be able to use their services. So questions that clarify the numbers of each groups as well as the current state that have been before the cafeteria has been given to Swift (it is unclear if there has been operational cafeteria before), will make the conclusions of the parent much more addressable.

Secondly, it is not well established that food in cafeteria is at all causing effect in a notable level of school children. In my personal experience, for example, I used to go for long hours to a school without a cafiteris and it did not affect my health at all. It should be questioned then, if the cafeteria has any practical effect on the kids health

An issue that is strongly connected to this one is how many hours to the school kids attend. It is imaginable that eight hours day will require a different approach then five hours school day. Question as such should be raised and answered since they have a crucial effect on the food policy of the school.

Yet another issue, is the question of the quality of food that parents provide for their children. Parents can, at least theoretically, provide healthy food that will keep their kids studying better and will be less affected from sugar and gluten intoxication. So it should be asked why the parent that composed the letter made the uncalled leap which reckons that parents will make an unhealthy meal for their childes. Considering all of the above it is really call for questioning how reasonable that a cafeteria with a food that is known in advance to be unhealthy will turn out to be healthier to kids from the current state of operation.

To conclude, providing a healthy meal for school children is not as simple as it may seem. To ensure that children will be provided with salubrious food it is definitly wise to conduct a research and not rush into conclusions based on one of many kids. Answering the questions that have been raised in this short essay, will help the parents and the school principal to address the issue in a better, more logical, and less emotional way. A way that will provide the best solution to most of the school's students.