The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Any business wants to make a profit. “Money makes the world go round”. Happy Pancake House owners are no different in their aspiration to profit; but, their recent switch to margarine over butter is not innocent at all.

Math is more than numbers that can be introduced in which ever way to sell, which seems like exactly what Happy Pancake house are trying to do. The company claims that only two percent of its clients complained about the recent shift to margarine. However, we do not have any information about how many clients where informed about the switch. So it is not clear at all if the costumer knew about the change. Clearly, it would be a good policy from the company to verify that clients are inform about the shift before they share the information as a positive trate of justifying such a shift.

There is undelying theme of the Southern franchise of rationalizing their action dishonestly. There are not many people who cannot tell difference between butter and margarine. Every one with a taste sense can tell the difference. Butter has that milky flair while margarine is a derivative of vegitation oil. All people have tendecy to rationalize the situation in their own favor; however, the bussines assumption that people mean “margrine” when saying “butter” might be going a little too far. And clearly, it is not that clear that anyone can interchangably use these terms.

Another term which Happy Pancake House failed to address is the long term health implications of their shift on their customers. Margarine is now accepted as an inferiour fat to butter in many studies, and even had been banned for usage in some countries. So, the clients might be pleased with the shift now but may suffer in the long run from the implications of such a shift. A better solution for the company was to save money in another section and not risking their clients health and well being.

To sum up, any bussiness wants to make a profit. One of the ways to augment profits is by cutting expenses. Nevertheless, Happy Pancake House should not go so far claim their customers cannot tell between margarine or butter. And moreover, the company should not risk the health of their customers at any cost.