The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that replacement of cheese with margarine in Happy Pancake restaurant had an insignificant effect on customers and many of them couldn’t differentiate between margarine and cheese as there was less percentage of complaints from customers and from report given by servers.However these explanations are not cogent enough to conclude that replacement had little effect as they are based on some assumptions which aren’t warranted or discussed.

First the author assumes that less percentage of complaints equal to happy with change.Yet it may not be true as it might be possible that many people didn’t like the change but only few gave complaint as others who didn’t give complaint might feel that giving of complaints might to lead to unnecessary arguments or they might be too busy and can’t waste their time by giving complaints.Moreover he also assumes that less percentage of complaints equal to less number of complaints which isn’t true as it depends on number of customers who visit the restaurant.Suppose if there were only 100 customers then 20 percentage equals 20 complaints.But if there were 100 customers then 20 percentage equal to 200 complaints which a large number of complaints and can’t be neglected.

Secondly the author also assumes that reports from servers is accurate enough to lead to conclusion.However it might not be the case since customers didn’t complain doesn’t mean they are happy. As they were served with only margarine and cheese wasn’t available they no other option except margarine to accept .But if they had opportunity of choosing between margarine and cheese they might have prefered cheese.Further the author also assumes that customers little response to change with Happy Pancake restaurant dishes doesn’t imply they can’t differentiate between cheese and margarine in other cases.Perhaps Pancake restaurant might be famous for cakes and use of margarine in place of cheese might have altered the taste little and people mostly ordered cakes (as restaurant was famous for it ) and didn’t notice the change.But if they were served with pizza whose taste might alter with replacement we can’t judge about their ability to differentiate.

Thus the author opinion isn’t logically sound.Before he could claim his opinion he have to take into account opinion of all customers,number of complaints not the percentage complaints and other dishes in which replacement might alter the taste.