The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

It seem that customers are not able to distinguish between margarine and butter or they use the term butter to refer to either butter or margarine, but there is lot of weakness in the argument.

Less number of complaints does not mean people refer to margarine or butter as same and are happy when they are served either. Most of the people comes with families in Happy Pancake house and usually Happy Panckes are very crowded, it takes a lot of time to register a complaints. Maybe many people are unhappy, but to save time they prefer not registering complaints.

It is stated that 2 percent of customers have complained and people are happy with happy, but it does not mean that people can not distinguish between margarine or butter. Maybe people prefer margarine over butter. Happy Pancake house is famous for its panckes that taste better with margarine. In a survey conducted last year, people admitted that they prefer pancake with margarine over butter.

Furthermore, margarine containing pancakes are much expensive than butter pancakes in all other food shops. Getting margarine containing pancakes at same price had made people more happy. Further Happy Pancakes are offering free coffee with margarine panckes in order to increase initial sale which have further appeased lot of unsatisfied consumers.

Moreover, people does not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter, in a poll conducted few months ago in southwestern United States,margarine was voted on number one as side food complement while having dinner, butter was voted third. People are more satisfied when servers provides them margarine because most of them like margarine. Clearly people are able to distinguish between margarine and butter as they are most popular complementary food products.