The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake

House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants

throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have

complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change.

Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for

butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these

customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to

refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter

and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this

cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could

rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly

account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager suggested replacing butter with margarine based on several explanations, however, he/she fails to consider other possible alternatives.

Firstly, the manager assumes most clients are satisfied with the change simply because they did not criticize, but could it be that the Happy Pancake House restaurant is a high-end restaurant typically located in the most expensive downtown area and its potential clients are usually self-aware and elegant people who do not want to bother themselves getting into a serious argument? Or the Happy Pancake House restaurant is an Asian style restaurant and its target audiences are generally shy immigrants who are not used to express their opinions in public?

Besides, he/she states that clients cannot tell the difference between butter and margarine since many servers have reported lots of customers who originally asked for butter did not complain upon receiving margarine instead. However, it is highly possible that those reported servers did not tell the truth due to the fear of not performing well in the job thus exposing themselves to layoff risk. On the other hand, clients might have already noticed the change and felt uncomfortable about it but they are caring enough to think there might be a temporary shortage for butter, which does not imply they are perfectly fine with this adjustment.

Finally, the manager mentions the replacement would be able to bring profitability because it helps reduce the cost of purchasing butter in the southwestern restaurants thus should be enforced in the southeast and northeast branches as well. However, what works in one area does not imply in another. He/she fails to examine the butter price throughout different places. Some restaurants might be closer to the origin that produces butter, hence cut down the cost resulted from transportation, which in turn causes lower price than purchasing margarine.

Apart from that, he/she also overlooks other possibilities such as eating habits might vary from place to place, people who live in the southeast or northeast might prefer butter over margarine thus willing to pay higher expense in order to fit their eating habits. In such a case, changing butter might bring discomfort hence decreasing the customer retention, which severely affects the profitability.

Therefore, it is better to take above alternatives into consideration before actually executing the change or pay close attention to this adjustment to see whether it goes well throughout different areas in the following months.