'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

Every television station always strive to have the best rating and aims to attracting more viewers. In the statement discussed, the business manager make assumptions that in order to attract more viewers and lose any more revenues, the station should be restored through devoting their time back to the weather and local news. Although this may be a quick fix and may sound reasonable, other things need to be considered on why viewers are complaining about what they are watching.

The business manager stated that once they devoted more time to national and less to wether and local news, complaints increased. The manager correlates this to an increased time covering national news. It may be a valid argument but a closer look needs to be done on why their is an increase in complaints. First, we must into what those complaints are. Is the complaint really about the increased devotion to national news or is it because the news about weather and local news are inaccurate. Are the content in the local news relevant to citizens of such city? It could also be that the television's coverage about national news is really informative and the viewers love it and now they are just wanting the same from the weather and local news. Whatever the answer to these questions are, it needs to be known in order to have an accurate assessment of each complaints.

We also need to see how many complaints are made. We need to know the previous average of complaints about the weather and the local news. If the average of the complaints wear already high before the change, then clearly the problem already existed prior to the television devoting its time to national news.

The other argument that the business manager have is that because of the devotion to national news, caused business to cancel their advertisement. Although it might have a connection, further investigation on why business have cancelled their contracts. It may be that there are no longer a need for television advertisement because there was no positive impact on having an ad on TV. It may be too expensive for local business to have an ad on television. Other forms of advertisement such as newspapers, magazines, posters may be more economical and may garner more revenue. Also having an ad on television may not reach the type of customers the business need to reach. Their customers may not watch television regularly and the opportunity for them to view the ad is dim.

Overall the argument that the business manager states need further scrutiny for it to be a valid point. Every possible explanation needs to be taken into consideration before making another change in the television station's future.