The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The argument given seems convincing but there are few things that are left uncertain like, the overall increase in the number of complaints that the television station received after the increased time for national news, if they made any advertising contracts with national buisnesses and the increase in the viewership after the increased time to national news.

The argument is contingent on the fact that the television station has been receiving complaints regarding their coverage of weather and local news but it is uncertain if the number of complaints increased after the devotion of increased time to national news. This is significant to evaluate the argument as if the number of complaints have decreased over the time before the increased time to national news was implemented, then it means that most viewers are comfortable with this change and there are only a few who have an issue with this change of schedule. In this case, the buisness manager's decision to revert this change will be a bad one.

The buiness manager makes the decision based on the fact that local buisnesses are cancelling their contracts with them, but it is not mentioned if they made any new advertising contracts with national buisnesses. This is significant as if they made contracts with national buisnesses then their entire revenue might have increased. Since, for any company the revenue increase is considered as an indicator of success, in this case as well the buisness manager's decision to revert the schedule will be a bad one.

The buisness manager of the television station, makes the above stated decision in order to attract more viewers but is not stated if the overall viewership has increased after the increased time to national news. The number and spread of viewers is a significant factor for a television station's success and hence if the number of viewers increased after the increased national news time then this change is a hit and should not be reverted. Hence, in this scenario, the manager's decision will be false.

The above mentioned points needs to be considered in order to evaluate the argument.